New law in New Jersey makes roads safer for cyclists, pedestrians - The Safe Passing Law:
As you may be aware, New Jersey recently passed a new law protecting cyclists and pedestrians while riding on public roads. Please click on the link for a helpful CBS news segment describing the new laws: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-x1t8qpjT8
The Safe Passing Law requires drivers to use “due caution” whenever they see vulnerable people on the road. The law states that:
Drivers must follow all current no-passing, no speeding laws AND move over a lane if there’s one to move into.
On a single-lane road, drivers must allow at least a 4-foot safety zone when they pass.
If 4 feet is not possible on a section of road, drivers must slow to 25mph and be prepared to stop until they can pass safely without endangering those sharing the road.
Details of the Law
What exactly does the bill do?
The law requires drivers to approach and pass vulnerable road users with “due caution.” The definition of “due caution” focuses on both slowing down (speed) and giving the other user plenty of space when passing (distance):
If at all possible, the driver should change into a non-adjacent lane before getting closer than four feet.
The driver should leave a reasonable, safe distance of at least 4 feet when approaching the protected users until they can pass safely.
If those options are not possible, the driver must reduce their speed to 25 miles per hour and be prepared to stop.
Violating these guidelines will result in a driver receiving a fine of $500 and two motor vehicle points, if bodily harm is caused. If no injury occurs, the fine is $100.
Read the bill: https://www.njleg.state.nj.us/bill-search/2020/A5570
More information from the NJ Bike and Walk Coalition: